The Babadook (2014)

The Babadook

Psychological Horror film. “If it’s in a word, or it’s in a book. You can’t get rid of the Babadook.” Spoilers below.

. the-babadook-poster

Woman loses husband. Womans’ child finds book. Child begins getting weird after reading book. Cue creepy scenes as woman and child try to escape the Babadook. The film ends after they are finally confronted the Babadook, and she literally repremands it. They end up keeping the Babadook in their basement, as a buddy.

The worst thing about seeing this movie is that no one would let me fall asleep while watching it. But god was it so fucking boring. The trailer is literally scarier than the whole film. It desperately relies on fear of the unknown, and the audiences imagination to make their simple tricks of flickering lights and creepy sounds to make peoples fears fill in the blanks. It does accurately set the tone for this movie to scare some people. Unfortunately it’s the people with crazy imagination, and who are already scared of the dark.  I am not one of those people, and while many who love horror are intrigued by this film, I simply just…hated it.

Though my hatred may just be from this movie being so well advertised and so endorsed. I mean, even the director of The Exorcist(!!!) said it was one of the scariest films he has ever seen.  So I was fucking hyped, and damn prepared. Pitch black room, horror movie buddy, all the blankets to cover myself if I got scared, a few teddy bears(same reason)…I was fucking ready. And then I watched it. And nothing, literally, nothing scared me.

This was not a movie for people who love horror, and actually being scared. This movie is for people who never watch horror films and are scared of being afraid. Not those who love being scared half to death, and I am the type who loves being scared.

With all that negativity being said, I do have a few good things to say about this film: First off, holy shit that marketing worked. Second, pop-up books are always scary, so it wasn’t the worst film idea. Third, the relationship of mother and son was done very well. The actors portrayed depression, and loss of sanity quite well. Fantastic performance on both their parts. But the scariest thing about the film was her parenting after she starts going insane. (Though honestly, if I couldn’t get my kid to stop screaming, I’d just start screaming too).

IMBD: 6.8/10    Me: 1/10

Leave a comment